FIRST POST  

So I’ve decided to venture into the unknown and have a go at starting a blog.  I’m slightly nervous about the prospect as up until recently my photography has very much been stored away on my computer only to be seen by polite and sincere family members and friends.  However, I’ve decided it’s time to bite the bullet and see if I can get the wider general public to view my images and give me some feedback.

So here are a few tasters of my photography, they were all taken whilst on an incredible trip to Japan.  I hope you enjoy them and would love to hear any comments you may have.

Thanks

Loren

Pigeon Crossing

Location: Kyoto, Japan

Date Taken:  19th May 2010

Camera: NIKON D60

Lens: 18.0 – 55.0mm f/3.5-5.6

Exposure: 1/80 sec @ f/13

Focal Length: 55mm

ISO: 200

Post Production: Slight adjustments made in Adobe Lightroom 3

This picture was taken on a quiet street in Kyoto, the line of pigeons was the first thing that caught my eye. After waiting for a few minutes I was lucky enough to capture someone walking across the bridge below with an umbrella in hand to protect her from anything that might fall from above.

 

 It’s A Hard Life

 Location: National Park

Date Taken: 12th May 2010

Camera: NIKON D60

Lens: 70.0 – 300.0mm f/4.0-5.6

Exposure: 1/80 sec @ f/13

Focal Length: 210mm

ISO: 800

Post Production: Slight adjustments made in Adobe Lightroom 3

There were a couple of dozen monkeys playing around this natural hot spring on a chilly spring afternoon. However, this particular monkey didn’t bat on eye lid with all the commotion going on around him, he was completely at ease and peacefully content in the warm water.  I wanted to capture this serene moment and enhance it by including the still water and clear reflection.

 

 Under Lock And Key

 Location: Osaka, Japan

Date Taken: 25th April 2010

Camera: NIKON D60

Lens: 18.0 – 55.0mm f/3.5-5.6

Exposure: 1/20 sec @ f/13

Focal Length: 38mm

ISO: 800

Post Production: Slight adjustments made in Adobe Lightroom 3

The sun was setting quickly behind the mountains when I captured this shot.  The colours from the sunset add to the romance of the image with the heart padlocks being the main subject. 

© Loren Cooper 2010



 

Leave a Reply

